News Headlines

Many Biden Cabinet Picks are Familiar faces in the US Politics

President-elect Joe Biden has chosen to fill a number of posts in his administration with people who served under President Barack Obama. Here is a list of the people he has picked who also worked in the last Democratic administration.


Susan Rice, White House Domestic Policy Council director

Ms. Rice was U.S. ambassador to the United Nations under Mr. Obama and later became national security adviser.

Denis McDonough, Veterans Affairs Secretary

Mr. McDonough served as White House chief of staff in the Obama administration, and previously was deputy national security adviser and worked for the National Security Council.

Tom Vilsack, Agriculture Secretary

Mr. Vilsack was also Agriculture secretary under Mr. Obama.

Vivek Murthy, Surgeon General

Dr. Murthy served as surgeon general during the Obama administration.

Lloyd Austin, Defense Secretary

Gen. Austin, a retired Army general, was in charge of military operations in the Middle East under Mr. Obama.

Ron Klain, White House chief of staff

Mr. Klain served as Ebola czar during the Obama administration.

Jen O’Malley Dillon, deputy chief of staff

Ms. O’Malley Dillon was a top former Obama campaign aide.

Steve Ricchetti, counselor to the president

Mr. Ricchetti served as Mr. Biden’s chief of staff during Mr. Obama’s second term.

Dana Remus, counsel to the president

Ms. Remus was deputy White House counsel during the Obama administration.

Antony Blinken, Secretary of State

Mr. Blinken was deputy secretary of state during Mr. Obama’s second term and national security adviser to Mr. Biden while he served as vice president.

Linda Thomas-Greenfield, U.S. Ambassador to the U.N.

Ms. Thomas-Greenfield served as Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs from 2013 to 2017. Before that she was U.S. ambassador to Liberia from 2008 to 2012.


Jake Sullivan, national security adviser

Mr. Sullivan was national-security adviser to Mr. Biden while he served as vice president and was director of policy planning at the State Department as the Obama administration sought to put together the Iran nuclear agreement.

Alejandro Mayorkas, Secretary of Homeland Security

Mr. Mayorkas served as deputy secretary of Homeland Security under Mr. Obama

Avril Haines, director of National Intelligence

Ms. Haines was deputy national-security adviser under Mr. Obama.

John Kerry, special presidential envoy for climate change

Mr. Kerry served as secretary of state under Mr. Obama.

Neera Tanden, director of the Office of Management and Budget

Ms. Tanden was one of the architects of the Affordable Care Act during the Obama administration.

Brian Deese, director of the National Economic Council

Mr. Deese was deputy director of the National Economic Council under Mr. Obama. He also was a deputy OMB director and a senior adviser to the president.

Cecilia Rouse, chairwoman of the Council of Economic Advisers

Ms. Rouse served as a CEA member during the first two years of the Obama administration.

Jared Bernstein, member of the Council of Economic Advisers

Mr. Bernstein was an architect of the Obama administration’s roughly $800 billion economic stimulus package enacted in 2009.

Adewale Adeyemo, Deputy Secretary of the Treasury

Mr. Adeyemo was the Treasury Department’s lead negotiator on the currency agreement that was part of the Trans-Pacific Partnership trade deal during the Obama administration, and in 2010 was one of the officials charged with setting up the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Source: WSJ

Comment here